top of page

Ways to romanticize school


Via We Heart It


With a whirlwind of assignments, essay deadlines, and exams heading our way; it's getting harder and harder to fight the burnout and tackle the semester ahead of us. School may suck at times but I crave academic validation so here are a few tips on how to get through school, coming from an empath.

For me, the key to school is to romanticize it.

The first thing I do is pretend I am my favorite academically inclined character. My favorites are Rory Gilmore from Gilmore Girls and Hermione Granger from Harry Potter. Striving to embody their admirable zeal and late-night library study sessions inspire in me, a palpable passion for studying and learning.

Next, you can study at cute coffee shops and libraries. You can pick a cozy warm corner at your local coffee shop or library. The idea of reviewing my notes or catching up on my reading with a mug of my favorite coffee, adds a certain charm to the act of studying.

You can also make a Pinterest vision board for your academic aesthetic. I personally have two vision boards on Pinterest that I look at when I’m feeling overwhelmed by school. One is to inspire me to read books and the other is mini school blogs, morning routines, and ways to romanticize school. They help to soothe my mind and re-motivate me.

To make your day less tedious, create playlists for your walks to class or free classes. The music you listen to before class will influence your mood and your desire to pay attention. Pick or make a playlist that makes you feel like the main character.

Another thing you can do is to establish a morning and night time routine. Plan out your skincare routine, listen to podcasts, take a long shower, stay hydrated, sleep early, plan your outfits (if you’re part of the lucky few that don’t have to wear a uniform) and even if you have a uniform you can add cute accessories to spice up your look and do cute hairstyles. I have found this super helpful because in actuality, wearing clothes that make you feel more confident and put together transcends how you work.

Also, invest in nice school supplies! This one is important because something about scented highlighters, small notebooks, and a variety of colored pens makes me excited to make notes. Using aesthetically appealing school supplies makes taking notes seem less like a chore.


Something about walking to school laughing with my friends, highlighting and annotating books, applying my flavored lip balm, smelling like a vanilla body mist, studying on a rainy day, taking neat and short notes, doing nice hairstyles, doodling on a small section of my notes, joining clubs, having my earphones in while blasting Phoebe Bridgers, eating sushi for lunch, lighting candles to study, getting docs and loafers as shoes, using a tote bag and pretending everything is just part of a movie, is just so relaxing and comforting.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page